Athlete Profile

Athlete: Dawn Johnson

Dawn Johnson's Profile Picture
Region:
North Central
Affiliate:
CrossFit Detour
Gender:
Female
Age:
38
Height:
5'8"
Weight:
190 lb

Benchmarks

Workouts
Fran0:00
Helen0:00
Grace0:00
Filthy 500:00
Fight Gone Bad0
Sprint 400m0:00
Run 5k0:00
Maxes
Clean & Jerk115 lb
Snatch80 lb
Deadlift210 lb
Back Squat160 lb
Max Pull-ups0

Bio

Dawn is a mid-thirty year old diagnosed with a brain cancer in May of 2013. She is originally from Rockford, IL but moved to Rochester, MN in 2002 to work as a registered nurse at Mayo Clinic. Dawn also enjoys avocations such as coaching swimming for Med City Aquatics, officiating soccer, researching and educating people on holistic wellness topics through her company Winning Wellness Solutions, and building her AdvoCare and Mary Kay direct sales businesses. She participates and trains for triathlons and CrossFit. In her free time, Dawn enjoys gardening, volunteering, and political activism. She is a member on several community committees and boards. Dawn is currently studying for her Doctor of Naturopathic Ministry and to become a Master Herbalist.

ATHLETE INFORMATION

How I Eat

I weigh and measure my food

I eat 1-3 full cheat meals per week

I eat mostly Paleo but tend to have 1 cheat day/week. I use AdvoCare nutrition products and a few other all natural supplements.

How I Train

I workout mostly at home, work, or a traditional gym

I have a coach who determines my programming

I write my own programming

I record my workouts

Also training for triathlons, masters swimming, soccer goalkeeper and soccer official.

My Athletic Background

I played youth or high school level sports

I played college sports

I played professional sports

I regularly play recreational sports

Soccer: 4 yr varsity high school,4 year college D III, 2 year semi-pro, european club, adult, mostly as goalkeeper also a youth, high school, and adult referee basketball: middle school, 1 year varsity HS, 1 year college DIII rowing: high school club, college club, adult club swimming: 3 yr YMCA in high school, 3 year college DIII, masters track&field: 2 years middle school , 1 year College DIII outdoor triathlon: 12 years, female overall triathlon winner, age group top 3 age group places, 3 time Ironman finisher running: 1 cross-country race in high school, won conference meet, over 15 marathon finishes, several overall female race winner and top 3 age group finishes cycling: do mostly recreationally, a few races mostly time trials volleyball: 2 years JV and 2 years varsiy high school cross-country skiing: completed local races since high school gymnastics: lessons in elementary school Figure skating: first sport starting at age 3 but only competed once as an adult in college T-ball: a few years in elementary school

My Experience With CrossFit

I began CrossFit with a coach (e.g. at an affiliate)

I have had a life changing experience due to CrossFit

I train other people

CrossFit: started December 2011 and try to go at least 3 times/ week of CrossFit only. Still have to scale most movements.

My Work/Rest Schedule

I do multiple workouts in a day 3+ times a week

I strictly schedule my rest days

I typically rest 4 or more days per month

Ideally do a triathlon (swim, bike, or run) and CrossFit, kettle bell, or lifting workout in a day. My job as a registered nurse also requires a high amount of physical activity with walking 12 hours on feet, lifting people, and push/pulling.

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

2-4 years

CrossFit: started December 2011

Leaderboard